Tuesday, March 09, 2010

Final 2010 Hugo Nomination Ballot

I submitted my final Hugo nomination ballot last night. I didn't quite get through as many new stories or novels since I posted my preliminary ballot, but on the whole, I'm happy with what I have here.

I will be very interested to see the final ballot and how many of my nominations make the ballot.

Boneshaker, by Cherie Priest
By the Mountain Bound, by Elizabeth Bear
Finch, by Jeff VanderMeer
The Quiet War, by Paul McAuley
Warbreaker, by Brandon Sanderson

Getaway”, by Emma Bull (Shadow Unit)
“The Language of Dying”, by Sarah Pinborough (PS Publishing)
“Starfall”, by Stephen Baxter (PS Publishing)
"The God Engines”, by John Scalzi (Subterranean Press)
Sugar”, by Leah Bobet (Shadow Unit)

First Flight”, by Mary Robinette Kowal (Tor.com)
Eros, Philia, Agape”, by Rachel Swirsky (Tor.com)
“It Takes Two”, by Nicola Griffith (Eclipse Three)
The Best Monkey”, by Daniel Abraham (The Solaris Book of New Science Fiction, Vol 3)

Short Story
Snow Dragons”, by Elizabeth Bear (Subterranean)
…That Has Such People In It”, by Jennifer Pelland (Apex Digest)
Nine Sundays in a Row”, by Kris Dikeman (Strange Horizons)
Spar”, by Kij Johnson (Clarkesworld)
Bespoke”, by Genevieve Valentine (Strange Horizons)

-shit, wait, is the Dikeman story eligible? Did I just mess that up? No matter. It's a really good story. You should go read it.

Best Related Work
No Nomination

Best Graphic Story
DMZ: No Future, by Brian Wood
Unknown Soldier: Haunted House, by Joshua Dysart
I Kill Giants, by Joe Kelly
Air: Flying Machine, by G. Willow Wilson
The Umbrella Academy: Dallas, by Gerard Way

Best Dramatic Presentation: Long Form
District 9

Best Dramatic Presentation: Short Form
Sarah Connor Chronicles: “Born to Run”
Lost: “The Life and Death of Jeremy Bentham”
Lost: “The Incident”

Best Editor: Short Form
Jonathan Strahan
John Joseph Adams
John Klima
George R. R. Martin
Ann VanderMeer

Best Editor: Long Form
Lou Anders
Liz Gorinsky
Anne Groell
Juliet Ulman
Jeremy Lassen

Best Professional Artist
Raphael Lacoste
Melanie Delon
John Picacio
Dan Dos Santos

Best Semiprozine
Electric Velocipede
Shadow Unit
Fantasy Magazine
Apex Magazine

Best Fanzine
SF Signal
File 770

Best Fan Writer
Larry Nolan
Adam Whitehead
Niall Harrison
Abigail Nussbaum
Joe Sherry

Okay, this is going to happen once, and once only. I am just enough of an arsehole to nominate myself one time. See, I figure it like this: after the awards are announced and the lists of all of the works and the folks garnering any votes are released...I expect to see a 1 next to my name. That's okay. I just want to see it once. It's obviously not an accomplishment, which is why I'm only going to do it once, but it'll still amuse me and be fun to see. Next year I'll find a real fifth.

Best Fan Artist
Kate Beaton

John W. Campbell Award
Kelly Barnhill

I've looked at the list of folks eligible for the Campbell this year and I recognize very few names, and most of the ones I do recognize, I haven't read. Except for Kelly Barnhill. She's fantastic and I would love to see her on the final ballot.


Anastasia said...

I loved By the Mountain Bound! After Palimpsest, it was my favorite book of 2009.

Anastasia said...

For Campbell-eligible writers, I wouldn't mind having seen Kenneth Schneyer or Shweta Narayan on the ballot - they just had stories in Clockwork Phoenix 3 that I really liked. Of course, that book just came out a month ago.