Thursday, July 10, 2014

2014 World Fantasy Award Nominees

Via SF Signal

Below are the nominees for the 2014 World Fantasy Awards.  Congratulations to all of the nominees.

Dust Devil on a Quiet Street by Richard Bowes (Lethe) 
A Natural History of Dragons: A Memoir by Lady Trent by Marie Brennan (Tor) 
The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman (Morrow; Headline Review) 
A Stranger in Olondria by Sofia Samatar (Small Beer) 
The Golem and the Jinni by Helene Wecker (Harper) 
The Land Across by Gene Wolfe (Tor)

Long Fiction
Wakulla Springs” by Andy Duncan & Ellen Klages ( 10/2/13) 
Black Helicopters by Caitlín R. Kiernan (Subterranean)
The Sun and I” by K.J. Parker (Subterranean Summer ’13)
Burning Girls” by Veronica Schanoes ( 6/19/13)
Six-Gun Snow White by Catherynne M. Valente (Subterranean)

Short Fiction
The Ink Readers of Doi Saket” by Thomas Olde Heuvelt ( 4/24/13)
The Prayer of Ninety Cats” by Caitlín R. Kiernan (Subterranean Spring ’13)
Effigy Nights” by Yoon Ha Lee (Clarkesworld 1/13)
Selkie Stories Are for Losers” by Sofia Samatar (Strange Horizons 1/7/13)
If You Were a Dinosaur by My Love” by Rachel Swirsky (Apex 3/13)

xo Orpheus: Fifty New Myths edited by Kate Bernheimer (Penguin) 
Queen Victoria’s Book of Spellsedited by Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling, eds. (Tor) 
Flotsam Fantastique: The Souvenir Book of World Fantasy Convention 2013 edited by Stephen Jones (Smith & Jones/PS Publishing) 
Dangerous Women edited by George R.R. Martin & Gardner Dozois (Tor; Voyager)
The End of the Road edited by Jonathan Oliver (Solaris US; Solaris UK) 
Fearsome Journeys: The New Solaris Book of Fantasy edited by Jonathan Strahan (Solaris US; Solaris UK)

North American Lake Monsters by Nathan Ballingrud (Small Beer) 
The Beautiful Thing That Awaits Us All and Other Stories by Laird Barron (Night Shade) 
The Ape’s Wife and Other Stories by Caitlín R. Kiernan (Subterranean) 
Flowers of the Sea by Reggie Oliver (Tartarus Press) 
How the World Became Quiet by Rachel Swirsky (Subterranean)

Galen Dara
Zelda Devon
Julie Dillon
John Picacio
Charles Vess

Special Award – Professional
John Joseph Adams, for magazine and anthology editing
Ginjer Buchanan, for editing at Ace Books
Irene Gallo, for art direction of
William K. Schafer, for Subterranean Press
Jeff VanderMeer & Jeremy Zerfoss, for Wonderbook: The Illustrated Guide to Creating Imaginative Fiction (Abrams Image)
Special Award – Nonprofessional
Scott H. Andrews, for Beneath Ceaseless Skies
Marc Aplin, Jennie Ivins & Paul Wiseall, for Fantasy-Faction
Kate Baker, Neil Clarke & Sean Wallace, for Clarkesworld
Leslie Howle, for Clarion West administration
Jerad Walters, for Centipede Press

No comments: