Monday, March 05, 2007

The Android's Dream, by John Scalzi

Monday, March 05, 2007
John Scalzi knows that the best way to get a reader interested in his work is to hook said reader from the opening sentence. Scalzi opens The Android's Dream with a fart joke. A really good and creative fart joke. Then he spins that fart joke into a brilliant opening chapter which sets the stage for everything that follows. Essentially, John Scalzi sells the entire novel on the premise of a fart joke and then he makes it work. Amazing. It is a work of art.

The Android's Dream is about two groups of men. One group is trying to prevent the intergalactic diplomatic incident that was begun by that opening fart joke. The other is trying to spread the floodgates open wider and really mess things up. The solution to the problems of both parties was to locate a particular sheep. Yes, a sheep. The solution to prevent an intergalactic war is to find a sheep. Obviously hijinks ensue and trouble abounds and things do not go smoothly, but from a fart joke to a sheep (and O what a sheep!), John Scalzi has put together a very funny, sharp, witty, clever, and creative novel. The Andoid's Dream is an outstanding piece of science fiction and serves as a good reminder of what the genre can do.

Really, this book deserves three or four pages of praise rather than three short paragraphs, but it is what it is. Fans of Scalzi, Science Fiction, or Good Writing: You must read this book. Period.


Nick said...

Sigh. Another one.

Joe Sherry said...

Yeah, you're obligated to read this one.

Nick said...

Dammit, I know.

Android developer said...

Nice news and its a adequate absorbing information, i ahead mostly peoples cast your blog because its accepting the admirable entertainment. so acknowledgment for accouterment these adequate time.

Android app developers said...

This is one of the pretty collection.I like your blog detail.This is one of the reliable post.

◄Design by Pocket Distributed by Deluxe Templates